SmackAMack’s Blog

February 11, 2009

Chaplin

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 3:58 pm

charlie-chaplin320downey83

Yesterday I finally watched the film Chaplin (1992) directed by Richard Attenborough and starring Robert Downey Jr. as Charles Chaplin himself.  I knew that Downey had won the Golden Globe for his portrayal 15 years ago, but even I was blown away by just how good he was.  I consider myself to be a Chaplin addict, being one of my inspirations for studying film.  I have seen almost all of his films and have read more than my share of articles and books about him.  The film itself wasn’t fantastic, but, Downey’s performance was astounding.  

If you have any interest in old films you will like this movie. Kevin Kline plays Douglas Fairbanks, Marisa Tomei plays Mabel Normand, Dan Aykroyd plays Mack Sennett and Diane Lane plays Paulette Goddard.  

I found the movie to be highly informative about the silent film era and entertaining to watch.  

I give this film *** but give Downey ***** for his portrayal of Sir Charles Chaplin (his physical comedy was spot on).  I recommend this film for anyone with an interest in either cinema and/or Charlie Chaplin.

If you have not seen a Charlie Chaplin film, I recommend you view one of the following before watching the film to appreciate Downey’s performance:

            The Great Dictator                                        Modern Times

the-great-dictator-charlie-chaplin-paulette-goddard003_moderntasamodern-times-posters

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

