SmackAMack’s Blog

March 5, 2009

Nineteen Minutes – Book Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 2:09 pm

6a00cdf3a152b7cb8f00fae8e6e82b000b-500piPlot: Bestseller Picoult (My Sister’s Keeper) takes on another contemporary hot-button issue in her brilliantly told new thriller, about a high school shooting. Peter Houghton, an alienated teen who has been bullied for years by the popular crowd, brings weapons to his high school in Sterling, N.H., one day and opens fire, killing 10 people. Flashbacks reveal how bullying caused Peter to retreat into a world of violent computer games. Alex Cormier, the judge assigned to Peter’s case, tries to maintain her objectivity as she struggles to understand her daughter, Josie, one of the surviving witnesses of the shooting. The author’s insights into her characters’ deep-seated emotions brings this ripped-from-the-headlines read chillingly alive. 

My mum recommended this book to me a month ago, so I decided to give it a shot and read it.  At first I was not impressed with the writing style, found it simplified and boring; however, it slowly picked up.  What I liked most about Jodi Picoult’s book was that it wasn’t just about the boy and why he killed so many kids.  Instead, it follows his mother and her understanding of why her own son could be such a monster.  I found this to be a unique perspective.  Overall though, I wasn’t as impressed with the book as my mum, but maybe because I don’t have kids I couldn’t fully appreciate its impact.  

I would recommend this book to mothers (any age).

I give this book ***1/2.  

Ps. I also recommend this to people who are fascinated with court dramas and/or school shootings…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

