SmackAMack’s Blog

March 13, 2009

Film Review – Frost/Nixon

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 3:54 pm

frost_nixon_poster1tn2_ron_howard_21Plot: Writer Peter Morgan’s legendary battle between Richard Nixon, the disgraced president with a legacy to save, and David Frost, a jet-setting television personality with a name to make, in the story of the historic encounter that changed both their lives. For three years after being forced from office, Nixon remained silent. But in summer 1977, the steely, cunning former commander-in-chief agreed to sit for one all-inclusive interview to confront the questions of his time in office and the Watergate scandal that ended his presidency. Nixon surprised everyone in selecting Frost as his televised confessor, intending to easily outfox the breezy British showman and secure a place in the hearts and minds of Americans (as well as a $600,000 fee). Likewise, Frost’s team harbored doubts about their boss’ ability to hold his own. But as cameras rolled, a charged battle of wits resulted.


 

nixon6501This film was directed by one of my favorites, Ron Howard, and nominated for 5 Oscars.  Frank Langella plays Richard Nixon and Michael Sheen plays David Frost.  I had been waiting to see this film for a while and had heard excellent things from both Mel and the Nelson family.  I personally found it to be good, but not great.  I didn’t find myself sitting on the edge of my seat as everyone else seemed to be (I know my mum was really into it).  I am not sure if I wasn’t a fan because I was in a lot of pain, or because I just didn’t think it was great.  Although it wasn’t my cup of tea, I still think it was fantastically made and the actors were superb.  

I recommend this film for anyone 14+ and give it ***1/2.

1 Comment »

  1. it’s before your time… and your not a major history buff if it doesn’t deal with hitler… and the pain issue prolly helped!

    Comment by mswiley2508 — March 13, 2009 @ 7:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

