SmackAMack’s Blog

March 16, 2009

Religulous – Film Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 11:13 pm

405px-religulous_posterPlot: With quotes from major figureheads like Thomas Jefferson, George W. Bush and Osama Bin Laden, Bill Maher, with a Jewish-Catholic background, sets out to prove that having faith and seeking directions from God is basically ridiculous and may be due to a neurotic disorder. Interviewing Christians, Catholics, Jews, Muslims, Mormons, scientists, gays, and atheists, he cites that the number of non-believers is increasing in North America. He attempts to prove his point by citing inconsistencies in the Bible, the controversial birth of Lord Jesus, the inability of religious heads to account for His absence for over 18 years, as well as the absence of any concrete evidence that disproves the theory of evolution.

Finally! A good film to review!  I absolutely loved this film, a lot more than I thought I would.  When I first saw the preview I had no interest…looked tasteless and crap.  However, this film surprised me in how much I learned!  Obviously I am not religious, but I, like Bill Maher, have a curious fascination with religion.  I thought he and I were very similar in how we feel, and I thought he was pretty good about not disrespecting people as much as he could have/I expected him too.  

While watching this film, most of the time it felt like Borat, but obviously not as harsh.  Bill questioned people with difficult concepts, poked fun, and made a few jokes, however, for a comedian making a film dissing religion, I thought it did it tastefully.  

I actually learnt a lot about different religions and really enjoyed all of the movie references.  Throughout the film they would cut in old film clips for comedic effect and write funny subtitles…very clever.  

religulous-20080822003813406_640wThe only thing for me was that I didn’t like the ending of the film.  Maher’s ‘hitting it home’ speech against religion was a little off.  Although I am totally in agreement with him, I think the film would have done a lot better wiithout the last montage…should have been edited.  

I would recommend this film for people who are open minded ages 15+.

I give this film ****. 

Oh, and as I am putting up the pictures…it says that its by the same director as Borat…no surprise.

2 Comments »

  1. Maher is an idiot…..and a creep…and a bigot…

    by the way, you say you’re looking for a job….you should be aware that a lot of people would find these posts very offensive

    Comment by lola — April 24, 2009 @ 3:16 am | Reply

  2. no one really asked for your opinion did they lola…. and just because you find something “offensive” doesn’t mean it actually is… is there a day that goes by where you aren’t offended by something stupid?

    Comment by Mel — April 24, 2009 @ 12:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

