SmackAMack’s Blog

April 6, 2009

Rigoletto – Opera Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 2:57 pm

rigoletto1

I had taken at Italian Opera class in Italy where I learned a lot about serveral different operas.  I also was lucky enough to go see 2 in Italy (Madam Butterfly and Elektra), however, I wasn’t impressed.  I loved opera music, but for some reason I didn’t enjoy going in Italy.  However, I believe it was because we had no english subtitles and there were no big sets and costumes.  

rigoletto0Anyway, Mel and I went to see Rigoletto (Verdi) this weekend at the MET.  We tried to get student tickets but it was sold out, so we had standing room.  However, we had a perfect view on the orchestra level and although my feet hurt, it was 100% worth it for 20 bucks.  Anyway, the sets were beautiful, and costumes were fabulous and the singing was unbelievable.  I absolutely loved it.  Someone once told me the test of opera is…if you like it at the MET, you have to like opera.  So, now I am going to try and get Don Giovanni (Mozart) tickets for next week because that was one of my favorites in the class. 

I give this show 4/5 stars.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

