SmackAMack’s Blog

April 26, 2009

Earth Girls Are Easy (1988) – Film Review

Filed under: Comedy,Film Review — smackamack @ 7:54 pm

earth_girls_are_easy

wiplocPlot: Love amongst the stars is every ‘valley’ girls dream…. and for Valerie (Geena Davis – The Fly) it’s a dream come true when love literally crash lands into her life in the form of intergalactic hardware plunging into her pool…

My friend Caitlin recommend we watch this film, I was obviously kind of tentative due to the fact that it looked…retarded.  However, this movie was AWESOME. AWESOMELY BAD. I LOVE 80s films, probably my favorite sub-genre ever.  Soooo, this film was right up my alley.  We was not only stupid and about aliens, but also a musical with bad acting and story line.  Awesome. 

earthgirls17Jim Carrey, Damon Waynes and Jeff Goldblum all star as aliens who come down to earth to find women.  Geena Davis plays a nail manicurist who falls in love with Jeff Goldblum after all of his alien hair is shaved.  The best scene of this film is by far the love scene between the two.  Not only is there awesome music, sparkly jewels, but also horrible graphics.  

cActually, a part of me fell in love with Jeff Goldblum I am embarrassed to admit, but he was hot in this film!  Also, I learned that during the film he and Davis were married, I had no idea! They were married from 87-90.  Crazy!

Anyway, if you like 80s films make sure you check this one out…if you don’t like awesomely bad 80s films, don’t watch this! I recommend this for people 15+ and give it 3/5 stars.

1 Comment »

  1. I think I liked Jeff in this because he barely spoke. He’s pretty to look at, but he tends to get up on his soapbox and jibber jabber away which distracts from his now faded hotness.

    Comment by Caitlin — April 28, 2009 @ 9:25 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

