SmackAMack’s Blog

April 26, 2009

Twilight (2008) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review,Robert Pattinson — smackamack @ 7:41 pm

twilight_bigteaserposter

twilight-groupshot-bigPlot: Bella Swan was not expecting anything out of the ordinary to happen when she moved to live with her Dad in Forks, Washington. But this where her life truly begins. There she meets Edward Cullen, a mysterious and captivating student at her new high school. Bella soon discovers that Edward is hiding a secret, after he impossibly saves her life from a van with his super-human strength and speed. 

Ok, I am just going to say it…I liked it.  Yes, I am embarrassed to admit that I enjoyed this film.  

However, despite the fact that I enjoyed it, doesn’t mean it was a fantastic film.  Lets start with the lead actress Kristen Stewart…totally wrong for the part.  Secondly, the graphics were seriously bad.  I don’t think the film had a high budget, so hopefully this will be fixed for the next film.  Lastly, some of the acting was seriously bad, seriously over the top, and seriously disapointing.  I guess this should have been expected though, the book was just as sappy and silly.

twilight-462-largeIf there is one thing I learned from this film it is the following: Robert Pattinson really is the sexiest man I have ever seen.  I never saw his appeal, well, after this film…I sure do.  I am officially in love with him.

Overall though, the film was really fun and exciting (just like the book) and I recommend it to people 12+ who either A. like sappy romance movies and/or B. have read the books.  I give this movie a 3/5 stars. 

Ps. His “brothers” are hot.


1 Comment »

  1. Brother= Jackson Rathbone (Jasper) and Kellen Lutz (Emmet)…. I feel the exact same way about this film…. the budget was a total $37 million, and you can’t even do decent special effect let alone an entire film on it…. and my favorite horrible scene is when she first walks into Bio and he looks like he’s gonna puke!!!

    but there are some seriously funny moments in the film… AND the guy that directed About a Boy is directing this one. and they have a much larger budget for this one…. we’ll go see New Moon together 😉

    Comment by Mel — April 26, 2009 @ 7:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

