SmackAMack’s Blog

April 28, 2009

In the Bedroom (2001) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review — smackamack @ 4:01 pm

786936180817

inthebedroom_1Plot: The Fowlers are a normal family in Maine. Matt is the town doctor and loves to fish, his wife, Ruth, is the school’s choir leader, and their son, Frank, is home from his first year of college. Frank is in love with Natalie, a young mother who isn’t quite divorced yet from her ex-husband, Richard Strout, whose family runs the local cannery. It makes Richard’s blood run cold to see his wife running around with another man. And soon, an unthinkable tragedy happens that will tear the Fowlers apart…

inthebedroom_2-1I found this film to be just ok.  I had heard soooo much about it and how upsetting it was etc, but I think I was too young.  I don’t have a child, so I don’t know how to relate to a character who has lost a child.  I found the acting to be excellent, but the film fell short of impressing.

I also found the film too slow, lacking in some way, and slightly boring.  I don’t particular recommend the film, however, it was critically appraised and would recommend it to film buffs ages 16+.  I give this film 2.5/5 stars.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

