SmackAMack’s Blog

May 4, 2009

Mannequin (1987) – Film Review

Filed under: Celebrity,Comedy,Film Review — smackamack @ 2:04 am

027616869449

mannequin2Plot:Jonathan Switcher is a young artist. He just doesn’t seem to last in any job he does. But when he builds a mannequin, he makes it so perfect, he falls in love with it. It is the first thing he has made that makes him feel like a real artist. The mannequin ends up in the window of a big department store. When he saves the life of an old lady who happens to be the owner of that store, he is rewarded by getting a job at the store as stock boy. Later the mannequin comes to life as Emmy, who was an ancient Egyptian living in the year 2514BC. The two redesign the window display to make it most eye catching in town. The store competitors are not happy and will do anything to stop them! 

up-mannequinI would like to forewarn any reader that I LOVE 80s films…truly, deeply, madly.  Anyway, I have seen sooooo many 80s films and I can usually tell a good one from a bad one.  This one was, was so cute.  It’s not in the big leagues with Say Anything or 16 Candles, but, its definitely worth the viewing.  

Lately all the 80s films I have seen I have been disappointed with (Porky’s, Weird Science), but this was great! It’s also a plus when it has Andrew McCarthy and Kim Cattrall!

Although I am reviewing this film, here are some of my favorite 80s films that you must see (if you like the genre):

Sixteen Candles

Say Anything

Breakfast Club

Better Off Dead

Heathers

Secret to My Success

…I am sure I am missing some of the essentials, but these are my off the top favorites. 

I give this film 3.75/5 stars!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

