SmackAMack’s Blog

May 19, 2009

Star Trek (2009) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review,Star Trek,Uncategorized,Zachary Quinto — smackamack @ 10:19 pm

trekpostersStar Trek is a 2009 science fiction film directed by J. J. Abrams and written by Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman. It is the eleventh film based on the Star Trek franchise and features the main characters of the original Star Trek television series, who are portrayed by a new cast. The film follows James T. Kirk (Chris Pine) and Spock (Zachary Quinto), before they unite aboard the USS Enterprise to combat Nero (Eric Bana), a Romulan from the future who threatens the United Federation of Planets. The time-travel story establishes an alternate reality, freeing the film and the franchise from continuity constraints.

new-star-trek-poster_lI was suppose to have seen this the weekend I went to Rochester, however, my flight was delayed about 6 hours and I missed the midnight showing.  As the weekend went by, EVERYONE was talking about how fantastical this film was…I had to go.  My family and I decided that in the true cinema studies spirit, to skip main graduation and go to the Star Trek IMAX!  

Unfortunately, once we got there, I was so exhausted by the packing, finals, and hustle and bustle, that I almost feel asleep in the theater.  However, trust me, I still enjoyed it!  The plot was fun, the script was great, and the acting was top notch.  This was one of the few films i have seen recently where there wasn’t a ‘week link’.  Also, the main leads were hotttttt…I am in love with Zach Quinto…even with the eyebrows!

I recommend this film for anyone who has either seen all of the star trek films, or none.  My sister for instance, loved this film and had never seen anything Star Trek related.  I give this film 4/5 stars.

20090407GG014_Star_Trek_XI_

1 Comment »

  1. jaw drops and drool puddles…. a guh!

    Comment by Mel — May 20, 2009 @ 9:47 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

