SmackAMack’s Blog

May 20, 2009

Grey Gardens (2009) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review — smackamack @ 4:45 pm

hbo_grey_gardens_poster

greygardensPlot: Based on the life stories of the eccentric aunt and first cousin of Jackie Onassis (both named Edith Bouvier Beale aka “Big and Little Edie”) raised as Park Avenue débutantes but who withdrew from New York society, taking shelter at their Long Island summer home, “Grey Gardens.” As their wealth and contact with the outside world dwindled, so did their grasp on reality. They were reintroduced to the world when international tabloids learned of a health department raid on their home, and Jackie swooped in to save her relatives.

Allyson and I both agreed this film was like Mommie Dearest meets Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?.  I first heard of this story when the play was on broadway and I almost went…then I heard about this made for TV movie that Drew Barrymore and Jessica Lange.  Again, my parents recommended this film…

grey-gardens-01Well, this was a strangeeeee film.  I am still unsure how I feel about the film seeming it was just so strange, however, I definitely thought it was worth watching.  The performances are fantastic, the story is bazaar, and the sets are unbelievable.  Through half of the film, the house is disgusting…and I mean, disgusting.  I was practically gagging just watching the film, it’s amazing how people can live!  

I recommend this film for anyone 14+ and give it 3/5 stars. 

Anyway, after watching this film, I want to see the original documentary the film was based on…here is a clip from the origianl, you can see how well they did in the remake…I mean, serious! Even Barrymores accent is spot on!

It’s an artistic smash!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

