SmackAMack’s Blog

July 20, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (2009) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review — smackamack @ 7:31 pm

harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince

harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince-20080320101218658_640wPlot: In the sixth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft, and in both wizard and muggle worlds Lord Volemort and his henchmen are increasingly active. With vacancies to fill at Hogwarts, Professor Dumbledor persuades Horace Slughorn, back from retirement to become the potions teacher, while Professor Snape receives long awaited news. Harry Potter, together with Dumbledore, must face treacherous tasks to defeat his evil nemesis.

I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan, I have read all the books, and seen all the movies…and to be honest, I enjoyed this one!  Many people who saw it were not impressed.  I will not lie, it is slow, and it lacks the magical charm due to the main focus on the kids going through their teenage problems.  And I must say, the “kids” have all grown up and are looking fantastic!  Also, their acting skills keep getting better and better in each film…but it’s probably also to do with the fact that the directors keep getting better and better.

harrypotter6_f01I haven’t read the book in over 4 years probably, and I felt kind of stupid when I watched the film because I had completely forgotten the end!  It was a nice surprise!

I thought this was the best made film of the lot, the editing was fantastic, the graphics and effects were amazing, and I just thought it was so well done.  The only major complaint would be that it was far to long and the editor should have cut about 20-30 minutes from the film.

I recommend this film to everyone and give it 3.5/5 stars.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

