SmackAMack’s Blog

July 21, 2009

The Other Boleyn Girl (2008) – Film Review

Filed under: Film Review — smackamack @ 9:50 pm

otherboleyngirl-poster-big

Other Boleyn GirlPlot: A sumptuous and sensual tale of intrigue, romance and betrayal set against the backdrop of a defining moment in European history: two beautiful sisters, Anne and Mary Boleyn, driven by their family’s blind ambition, compete for the love of the handsome and passionate King Henry VIII.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I do love the Tudor era in history.  When I saw the preview, I was excited, however, everyone and their mother bashed the film and said it was a waste of time.  Well, last week while I was sick, this was free on netflix, so I decided to have a go…well, I really enjoyed it!  Perhaps I had really low expectations, but I found it to be really good.

otherboleygirls1The story is probably total crap, but it was definitely fun and full of drama.  I found Eric Bana delectable as Henry (gorgeous!), but Natalie Portman was poorly cast…she annoyed me.  She was actually my only major problem with the film (other than the fact that it was totally historically incorrect…who cares, it’s a movie!).

I recommend this film to anyone who enjoys a good time piece film full of drama, romance and beauty.  I give it 4/5 stars.

(I was on a lot of meds at the time…this review could be totally unreliable).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

