SmackAMack’s Blog

March 7, 2009

Quote of the Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 11:59 am

Guess the film…

“I love you. Not like they told you love is, and I didn’t know this either, but love don’t make things nice – it ruins everything. It breaks your heart. It makes things a mess. We aren’t here to make things perfect. The snowflakes are perfect. The stars are perfect. Not us. Not us! We are here to ruin ourselves and to break our hearts and love the wrong people and die. The storybooks are bullshit. Now I want you to come upstairs with me and get in my bed! ” – Moonstruck

Moonstruck – Film Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — smackamack @ 11:55 am

moonstrucktekkaus-18-moonstruckPlot: Directed by Norman Jewison, 1987.  

Loretta Castorini, a Brooklyn bookkeeper in her late 30s whose husband died several years earlier in a bus accident, decides it’s time to get married again. So she accepts the proposal of a nice, middle-aged fellow named Johnny Cammareri. Loretta is convinced her first marriage was cursed because she and her husband had gotten married at City Hall; this time, she’s determined to do things right, even as she admits to her mother, Rose, that she’s not really in love with Johnny. (To which Rose replies: “Good. When you love them, they drive you crazy, ’cause they know they can.” Rose speaks from rueful experience; she suspects, with good reason, that her husband, Cosmo, is cheating on her.) Loretta is convinced that marrying Johnny is the safe and sure thing to do – until she meets his estranged younger brother Ronny, who tends the ovens in a neighborhood bakery. Loretta discovers that in startling contrast to the pleasant, mild-mannered Johnny, Ronny is moody and passionate; what follow are complications worthy of a comic opera.

moonstruck460“Snap outta of it!” I first watched Moonstruck early on in High School and didn’t really get it…actually, I don’t know if I even finished it.  Anyway, my friend Allyson told me she had seen it and loved it, so I decided to give it another shot.  I popped it in the DVD player at 2am last night thinking I would watch half an hour before going to bed…well, I watched it all.  This time around, I loved it and really saw it’s charm. 

 moonstruck11I thought the performances by Cher and Nick Cage were fantastic, the script was great, and of course I loved all the NYC and Italian references 🙂  I wouldn’t say this is a classic love story, but one that is more real and honest.  On top of this, Norman Jewison directed the film and we all know how much I am obsessed with his film Fiddler On the Roof… I obviously needed to see this again. 

I recommend this film for anyone 18+ (not for language, I just don’t think they would fully appreciate).  I would recommend it for people who want a love story, but not a sappy one…for something more real and meaningful than the usual bullshit romance films.  

I give this film **** stars.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.